Leszek Antoni Gąsieniec Jesper Jansson Christos Levcopoulos (Eds.)

## Fundamentals of Computation Theory

22nd International Symposium, FCT 2019 Copenhagen, Denmark, August 12–14, 2019 Proceedings



## Preface

This volume contains the papers presented at the 22nd International Symposium on Fundamentals of Computation Theory (FCT 2019), held in Copenhagen, Denmark, during August 12–14, 2019.

FCT is a biennial conference that circulates between various European countries on a regular basis. The first FCT conference took place in Poznan-Kórnik, Poland in 1977, and the most recent ones in Liverpool, UK (FCT 2013), Gdańsk, Poland (FCT 2015), and Bordeaux, France (FCT 2017). FCT focuses on theoretical computer science; in particular, algorithms, complexity, and formal methods.

FCT 2019 received 45 submissions. Each submission was reviewed by at least three Program Committee members, in many cases with the assistance of external expert reviewers. After a thorough review process followed by a discussion phase, 21 of the submitted papers were accepted for presentation at the conference.

Invited talks were given at FCT 2019 by Libor Barto (Charles University), Bernard Chazelle (Princeton University), Kousha Etessami (University of Edinburgh), and Torben Hagerup (University of Augsburg). The papers describing the invited talks are included in these proceedings.

The Program Committee selected the following paper for the best paper award, as well as the best student paper award:

• Bireswar Das, Shivdutt Sharma, and P. R. Vaidyanathan: "Succinct Representation of Finite Groups"

To be eligible for the best student paper award, at least one of the authors had to be a full-time student at the time of the submission, and the student(s) were required to have made a significant contribution to the paper.

We would like to thank the FCT Steering Committee, the FCT 2019 Organizing Committee, the invited speakers, all authors who submitted their work, the FCT 2019 Program Committee members, and the external reviewers. We also thank Jyrki Katajainen for all his help with practical matters when, due to unforeseen circumstances, he became unable to act as the Program Committee chair and Organizing Committee chair, and we were asked by the Steering Committee to step in. Furthermore, we would like to thank Springer for publishing the proceedings, and the Easy-Chair conference management system for simplifying the entire process of reviewing the submitted papers and generating the proceedings. Finally, we acknowledge the support of the Department of Computer Science at the University of Copenhagen (DIKU) and the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS).

August 2019

Leszek Gąsieniec Jesper Jansson Christos Levcopoulos